The night air is chilling. The leaves are changing to orange, red, and yellow across the land. Spider webs and tombstone decorations are coming out for all to see. Halloween is almost here.

Now is the time to continue the love of reading for young readers with scary and silly Halloween themed booked. Here are some of my favorites for your kids to discover:

The Only Thing Worse Than Witches by Lauren Magaziner

The Only Thing Worse Than Witches by Lauren Magaziner

Rupert Campbell has always been fascinated with the witches that live nearby. Dreams of broomstick tours and souvenir potions fills his head. But unfortunately the closest he can get to a witchy experience is being stuck in class with his terrible teacher Mrs. Frabbleknacker. She smells like bellybutton lint and doesn’t let any of the kids talk to each other before, during, or after class.

Then when Rupert sees an ad to become a witch’s apprentice, he can’t resist the opportunity. But when he meets his witch, she isn’t exactly what he had in mind. She has the magical aptitude of a toad and a hankering for lollipops. And she needs all the help she can get to pass her witch exams.

Maybe she can help Rupert stand up to his mean teacher and become a full-fledged witch along the way. This delightful read will have young readers giggling and wishing they could become a witch.

Age Range:
8 – 12

Grade Level:
3 – 7

Paperback:
288 pages

Formats:
Hardcover, paperback, ebook

Middle School Bites by Steven Banks

Middle School Bites by Steven Banks

Just before his first day of middle school, Tom has a series of unfortunate bites. He is bitten by a vampire, a werewolf, and a zombie. Now he is a strange mixture of all three.

Only with the help and support of his best friend Zeke can he face a fear greater than death… Middle School. But will his classmates accept him? Will he be able to stand up to the sixth-grade bully?

This clever, fun read is filled with cartoon-style art on every single page that will engage young readers. Created by the Emmy-nominated writer for CatDog, The Adventures of Jimmy Neutron, and SpongeBob, this zany book is perfect for fans of The Last Kids on Earth and Diary of a Wimpy Kid.

Age Range:
8 – 12

Grade Level:
3 – 7

Hardcover:
304 pages

Formats:
Hardcover, eBook, audiobook

Small Spaces by Kathrine Arden

Small Spaces by Kathrine Arden

Eleven-year-old Ollie is devastated by a tragic loss. His only solace is in reading books. That is where he discovers a chilling ghost story. It’s about a girl name Beth and her two brothers who made a peculiar deal with the sinister specter known as the “smiling man”. Legend has it that he can grant your most tightly held wish for the ultimate price.

Mesmerized by the spooky tale, Ollie begins wondering if the smiling man might be real. His heart drops when he is on a field trip to a farm and stumbles upon the grave of the very people he was reading about. Then when a school bus breaks down on a field trip, the bus driver warns him, “Best get moving, At nightfall they’ll come for the rest of you.”

Scared, Ollie and two classmates run out into the woods bordered by a field of scarecrows. In this fun-filled, spooky adventure, Ollie tries to follow the parting advice of the bus driver to “Avoid large places. Keep to small.”

Age Range:
10 – 12

Grade Level:
5 – 6

Paperback:
256 pages

Formats:
Hardcover, paperback, eBook, audiobook

No Place for Monsters by Kory Merritt

No Place for Monsters by Kory Merritt

Everything seems normal in the quiet town of Cowslip Grove. The sidewalks are tidy, the lawns are neatly mows, and even the jingle of ice cream trucks fill the air. But kids are mysteriously going missing. And no one remembers them, not even their teachers or families.

Levi and Kat, however, do remember. These two unlikely friends suddenly discover that the entire town is in danger. And they must face their worst fears to protect their small town, and themselves, from disappearing.

This fantastic book is wildly imaginative and totally terrifying. The perfect story for young readers to devour while they plan their costumes for trick-or-treating.

Age Range:
8 – 12

Grade Level:
3 – 7

Paperback:
384 pages

Formats:
Hardcover, eBook

Permy and the Cyclops Baker by Benjamin Ellefson

Get a Free Book!

Join the Benjamin Ellefson mailing list to receive the short story Permy and the Cyclops Baker for Free!

You'll also get weekly emails with the latest updates including monthly giveaways, early reveals from upcoming books, and more.

Learn More

You have Successfully Subscribed!